Learn about protocols

What is a Meditation Protocol?

Behind every protocol is a mathematical algorithm for translating brain wave patterns into meditationdepth scores. The oldest and simplest protocol for meditation is to measure the amplitude of alphawaves (8-12 Hz) as a measure of meditation depth. For example, if four sensors were all receiving 7microvolts of Alpha waves, we could give that a score of 28. If they were all producing 2 microvolts, wecould give that a score of 8 as a shallower meditation

There have been thousands of experiments looking for the brainwave patterns behind meditation. Wehave organized and synthesized these results to create 27 protocols for 27 different types of meditation.We have further refined these protocols for four levels of meditation experience. The levels are based onthe core task at each stage of practice.

Level 1: Beginner-> NoviceSettlingin and Calming Down
Level 2: Novice -> IntermediateEffortingfor Focus, Clarity, and Equinimity
Level 3: Intermediate-> AdvancedMore Easetoward Mastery
Level 4 Advanced-> ExpertNon-Dual,Unity, Loss of Self

How to Choose the Right Protocol for You

There are six modern meditation protocols and 21 tradition-based meditation protocols. Thetradition-based meditations have been taught for centuries. We have organized them according to threemajor lineages – Buddhist, Vajrayana, and Yogic. Every single protocol is based on academic studies ofmeditators from these traditions. If there isn’t sufficient academic research for a particular level ofmeditation expertise in a tradition, we grey out that option when choosing experience level.

The modern meditation protocols are based on an amalgam of research studies from several traditions.These protocols are a bit more robust than the traditional based protocols because they draw from morestudies.